PORTAGE, Mich, September 16, 2008 — Attached is the week three MichiganCrossCountry.com Prep Ranking. This ranks both boy’s and girl’s prep cross country teams. It covers both the Lower and Upper Peninsula for all school divisions. The rankings are released weekly during the high school season.

The MichiganCrossCountry.com Prep Ranking is compiled for each high school division by a vote of 23 high school coaches or officials who review all meet results available to him/her within their respective division in an effort to provide the most accurate ranking possible. (All panelists are listed below.)

The criteria utilized for ranking by the panel is projected finish at the MHSAA Finals scheduled for November 1, 2008 at Michigan International Speedway in Brookyln, MI.

MichiganCrossCountry.com Prep Ranking
(Lower Peninsula and Upper Peninsula)
Week of September 15, 2008

MichiganCrossCountry.com Lower Peninsula Prep Rankings
D1 LP Boys
1 Saginaw-Heritage
2 Ann Arbor-Pioneer
3 Saline
4 Lake Orion
5 Rockford
6 Auburn-Bay City Western
7 Rochester-Adams
8 Novi-Detroit Catholic Central
9 Caledonia
10 Pinckney
HM East Kentwood

D1 LP Girls
1 Saline
2 Rockford
3 Traverse City Central
4 Rochester-Adams
5 Troy
6 Brighton
7 Grand Haven
8 East Kentwood
9 Rochester Hills-Rochester
10 Ann Arbor-Huron
HM Grandville
HM Pinckney

D2 LP Boys
1 Linden
2 Ada-Forest Hills Eastern
3 Vicksburg
4 Grand Rapids-Christian
5 Chelsea
6 Williamston
7 Flint-Luke M Powers Catholic
8 Fremont
9 Ionia
10 St Clair
HM Alma
HM Dexter

D2 LP Girls
1 Grand Rapids-Christian
2 East Grand Rapids
3 Gaylord
4 Ada-Forest Hills Eastern
5 East Lansing
6 Williamston
7 Milan
8 DeWitt
9 Flint-Luke M Powers Catholic
10 Sturgis
HM Marshall

D3 LP Boys
1 Hillsdale
2T Bangor
2T Shepherd
4 Grand Rapids-West Catholic
5 Jackson-Lumen Christi
6T Benzonia-Benzie Central
6T Lansing-Catholic
7 Whitmore Lake
8 Grandville-Calvin Christian
9 Kent City
10 Allendale

D3 LP Girls
1 Benzonia-Benzie Central
2 Jackson-Lumen Christi
3 Allendale
4 Schoolcraft
5 Leslie
6 Macomb-Lutheran North
7 Portland
8 Grand Rapids-West Catholic
9 Hanover-Horton
10 Kent City
HM Leroy-Pine River Area
HM Elk Rapids
HM Lansing-Catholic

D4 Boys
1 Potterville
2 Harbor Springs
3 Saugatuck
4 Adrian-Lenawee Christian
5 Ann Arbor-Greenhills
6T Concord
6T Grand Rapids-Covenant Christian
8 Hesperia Community
9 Fowler
10 Pewamo-Westphalia

D4 Girls
1 Harbor Springs
2 Hesperia Community
3 Harbor Beach Community
4 Fowler
5 Grand Rapids-NorthPointe Christian
6 Manton
7 Traverse City-St Francis
8 Bear Lake (Onekama )
9 Pewamo-Westphalia
10 Ann Arbor-Greenhills

MichiganCrossCountry.com Upper Peninsula Prep Rankings

D1 UP Boys
1 Marquette
2 Gladstone
3 Soo
4 Neguanee
5 Gwinn

D1 UP Girls
1 Gladstone
2 Marquette
3 Menominee
4 Soo
5 Kingsford

D2 UP Boys
1 Munising
2 Stephenson
3 Houghton
4 L’Anse
5 West Iron County

D2 UP Girls
1 Munising
2 Stephenson
3 Houghton
4 L’Anse
5 Rudyard

D3 UP Boys
1 Rapid River
2 Superior Central
3 Powers – North Central
4 Chassell
5 Jeffers

D3 UP Girls
1 Powers – North Central
2 Superior Central
3 Jeffers
4 Chassell
5 Rapid River

MichiganCrossCountry.com was formed in 2007 by Dan Wytko and Don Passenger to bring recognition to the sport by accurately ranking Michigan teams and to provide a venue for discussion of cross country and track and field issues.

Dan Wytko has coached track & field and cross country at Portage Central High School since 1994. He is a founder and co-meet director of the Portage Invitational; one of the nation’s premier high school cross country invitationals (http://portageinvite.com). His women’s cross country teams have won eleven division/conference titles, four regional titles, made eleven trips to the state finals, including four top ten finishes.

During Wytko’s tenure as Portage Central track and field coach, his women’s teams have won eight division/conference titles and one regional championship. His men’s teams have won two division/conference titles and one regional championship. His 2006 men’s team finished as MHSAA Division 1 State Finals Runner-up. Dan has also been a member of the Team Michigan Midwest Meet of Champions coaching staff since 2001 and he is a member of the MHSAA Rules and Regulations Committee for cross country and track and field. Dan ran competitively in high school at Battle Creek Lakeview, and he then concentrated on road runs during his collegiate years at Western Michigan University.

Don Passenger has been involved in Michigan track and field since the mid-1970s when he competed at Caledonia High School for coach John Soderman. He ran at Saginaw Valley State (NAIA) and Grand Rapids Community College (NJCAA) earning seven All American honors in events ranging in distance from the 800 meters to the marathon. He went on to compete for the University of Kentucky where he set the school record in the 1500-meter run and completed his athletic career at the University of Michigan. During his time at UM he was a varsity member of the Cross Country team that finished sixth in the NCAA Cross Country Championship (1982) and the team won the Big Ten Outdoor Track title (1983). From 1998 to 2003 Don coached at the middle school level in Grand Rapids. Don is a registered MHSAA Track and Cross Country Official. From 2003 to present Passenger has coached the Grand Rapids West Catholic girls cross country team and the girls distance program in track and field. His track team has placed in the top four the past three years in the Michigan Interscholastic Track Coaches Association (MITCA) Team State Track Championships (2nd 2006, 3rd 2007, 1st 2008).

Ranking Panel as of September 9, 2008:
Amy Coughlin – Waterford Mott
Asa Kelly – Benzonia-Benzie Central
Ben Watson – Rockford
Brian Salyers – Milford
Cliff Somers – Fremont
Daniel Wytko – Portage Central
Don Passenger – Grand Rapids West Catholic
Doug Jager – Grand Rapids Christian
Gary Meehan – Brighton
Grant Lofdahl – Allendale
Jill Evers-Bowers – Kent City
Joe Shay – Central Lake
John Carlson – Belding
Kyle McKown – Clare
Michael Nesbitt – Bay City Western
Mike Holik – Chelsea
Ray Antel – East Kentwood
Robert Jazwinski – Dexter
Scott Banghart – Mattawan
Scott Werner – Pewamo-Westphalia
Tim Simpson – Lansing Catholic Central
David Jordon – Concord
Rudy Godefroidt – Hemlock

On the web: http://michigancrosscountry.com

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.