– The Monroe Evening News, Monroe, MI
Jefferson, SMCC win at Jefferson
, last modified September 26. 2009 11:15PM

Local cross country teams claimed three individual championships and two team titles in the Jefferson Invitational Saturday.

Jefferson’s girls took the Division 2 crown and St. Mary Catholic Central’s girls ruled Division 3-4.

Individual champions included Austin Whitelaw of Monroe in Division 1, Mike Darnell of Gibraltar Carlson in Division 2 and Winonah Krug of Lutheran South in Division 3-4. Darnell had the best time of the day in any division at 15:52.

Jefferson ran away with the Division 2 girls title. The Bears had 54 points to 75 for runner-up Grosse Ile.

Julia Reaume was 4th, Erin Bachler 7th, Sam Zajac 13th, Sam Steinman 22nd and Chelsea Dingledine 23rd for Jefferson.

Airport was fifth with 111 points as Katie Griffith was 5th, Danielle Shepherd 6th and Kelsey Lancina 18th.

Carlson was eighth and its best finisher was Merrick O’Leary in 29th.

Airport had the best local finish in Division 2 boys with a third. Evan Krzyske was second, 47 seconds behind Darnell. Tony Rote was 9th and Shawn Haddix 14th for Airport.

John Webb was third for Jefferson in 16:43 and the Bears finished fourth as a team.

SMCC put five runners in the top 13 of the Division 3-4 race. Colleen Grassley was third, Jordan Strauss fifth, Marisa Martin 9th, Daynel Strauss 11th and Nicole Oaks 13th.

Krug won the race in 20:09, with Brittany Slinker of Dundee taking second. The Vikings also had Grace Gimesky eighth.

Whitelaw’s winning time in Division 1 was 16:08. Monroe also got a 5th from Zach Garman, a 13th from Drew Sanseverino and a 14th from Nick Tyson as it finished second with 54 points behind Canton’s 46.

Monroe’s girls also were second, posting 82 points to 65 for champion Brighton.

Marina Aguilera was fifth, Jenna Stumpmier sixth and Ashley Nichols eighth for the Trojans.

The Monroe Milers won the junior high race as James Tizedes was 12th and Sean Brady 15th.

Riley Delben was third and Keely Falk seventh in the girls race.

Categories: Track and Cross News

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.